Northern Ireland XC champioships 1999 - Ballykelly 5/9/99

Aiden McDonald took a well deserved win in this year's champioships at Ballykelly. 1999 has been a very successful year for Aiden, who completed the RAS in May and has won a number of XC races throughout Ireland since. The silver medal went to Southern rider Matt Dempsey, making his only appearence in the North this year. Bronze went to Liam Nelson - an ex league winner who has been concentrating mostly on road cycling recently.


Robert Uprichard took the Sports category gold, ending the season second in the league - not bad for his first full year of competing! In the juniors Owen Jeffries made it a clean sweep winning every race of the season. In the U16s Matt Blaney put in a very impressive performance to take the gold. In the U14s, British NPS star Lewis Feguson took the honours with brother Mathew taking hte U12s.


1st Aiden McDonald (Apollo)

2nd Matt Dempsey (IMBRC)

3rd Laim Nelson (Ballymena)


1st Robert Upritchard (Orchard )

2nd Gary McKeegan (Madigan)

3rd Phillip Jennings  (Banbridge)


1st Owen Jeffries  (Toyota North Down)


1st Matt Blayney (TND)


1st Lewis Ferguson (IMBRC)


1st Mathew Ferguson (T.N.D.)


1st Robert Lamont (Newry)


1st Knud Jensen (sorrento)