www.queenslgfc.com - Cumann Peíle Ollscoil na mBan Ríona Béal Feírste
Cead Mile Failte, - Welcome to the official website of Queen's University Belfast Ladies Gaelic Football Club

Bookmark site


News from Queen's Ladies Gaelic Football Club 2000/2001

Chairperson: Éimear Stewart Moneyglass
Secretary: Kitty Colton Dromore
Treasurer: Bridgheen McCann Dromore
Members: Jennifer Agnew Noamh Malachi
Maeliosa Hardy Moneyglass
Pauline Mallon Ballyhegan

TRIP TO KILCAR December 2000

Dowd Cup 2001

This was held by St Mary's Belfast at Gort na Mona GFC. Queens I defeated Coleraine I in the Semi-Final while UUJ I defeated St Marys. This set up the two old rivals in the final QUB vs UUJ. After a thrilling match, UUJ were the eventual winners. Meanwhile in the McNally Plate, QUB II were defeated in the final by UUJ II after a hard fought match.

After the Dowd Cup final, the Ulster University combined team was chosen based on player performance in the Dowd Cup. The successful QUB players were Sharon McGovern, Jennifer Agnew, Orlaith Kirk, Cara Franey, Maeliosa Hardy, Marianna Devlin and Caroline Kelly. Sharon and Orlaith also were selected for the All-Ireland Colleges combined team.

O'Connor Cup 2001
After the Dowd Cup, the Queens girls picked themselves up and trained hard with renewed determination for the O'Connor Cup. The outbreak of Foot & Mouth played havoc with the fixtures in the spring and the traditional O'Connor Cup weekend due to be hosted by UUJ had to be abandoned. Instead, the final stages of the competition were played at separate locations.

QUB defeated Trinity College in Dublin. The team then travelled south, staying overnight in Dublin before traveling to Portlaoise to face Tralee. QUB dominated the match and should have won but in the dying seconds of the match, Tralee scored vital points to win. Tralee met UCD in the final with UCD crowned O'Connor Cup champions 2001. As beaten semi-finalists, QUB were paired with Sligo IT in the All-Ireland shield final. However, Sligo IT failed to field a teamand QUB were awarded the All-Ireland shield by virtue of a walk-over.

Presentation Night

The annual presentation night was held in the Holiday Inn on Friday18th May 2001.

Award winners on the night:
1st team player of the year: Marianna Devlin
Player's player of the year: Marianna Devlin
Most improved player: Orla Irwin
2nd team player of the year: Máire Clarke
Clubperson of the year: Éimear Stewart

The awards were presented by the team managers for the season.

All players were presented with their Dowd Cup jerseys. Both the 1st and 2nd teams were presented with runners-up medals from the Dowd Cup and McNally Plate respectively. The 1st team was also presented with their All-Ireland shield winners medals.

Special thanks were expressed to Éimear Stewart for her enormous contribution to the club throughout the year both on and off the field.

Managers (Firsts Team)
Name: Mark McAvoy
Club: Tullylish, Co. Down

Name: Eamonn O’Neill
Club: Co. Tyrone

Managers (Seconds Team)
Name: Andrew Moohan
Club: Ederney, Co. Fermanagh/Carryduff, Co. Down

Name: Declan Morgan
Club: Tullylish/Carryduff, Co. Down

Ulster Combined Colleges Representatives:
Orlaith Kirk, Sharon McGovern, Jennifer Agnew, Cara Franey, Caroline Kelly, Maeliosa Hardy, Marianna Devlin.

All-Ireland Combined Colleges Representatives:
Orlaith Kirk, Sharon McGovern.

back to the top



All Rights Reserved