www.queenslgfc.com - Cumann Peíle Ollscoil na mBan Ríona Béal Feírste
Cead Mile Failte, - Welcome to the official website of Queen's University Belfast Ladies Gaelic Football Club

Bookmark site


Queen's Ladies Gaelic Football Club Season 1996/1997

Chairperson: Cathy Gallagher Donaghmore
Secretary: Sinead McCone Armagh Harps
Tresurer: Sharon Daly Tullysaran

The season started on a good note, with League victories over St. Marys and Coleraine. The team could nearly have been accused of trying 'too' hard and were duly punished by a confident Jordanstown side. Indeed this was probably our defining moment, and tough talking was done in Dublin at the Freshers Sevens.

A more determined and mature Queens' team was undoubtedly the result of this huge effort, as training was stepped up to three times a week and challenge matches were played. Managers Colly and Martina also brought out a new belief in ourselves, which previous Queen's teams had lacked. The Dowd Cup in Derry would be a series of steps , the first being UUJ II, then old friends Coleraine. Without serious injury we made it to step three on Sunday 23rd February.


Hayley Boyle, Sharon Daly, Maura McArdle, Michelle Monaghan, Denise Martin, Martina O'Brien, Maura McCabe, Orla Murtagh, Lisa McGirr, Claire McGuckin, Ciara Holland, Pauline McCoy, Oonagh McKibbon, Cathy Gallagher, Joanne Daly.

Subs: Jackie Burns, Aine Dolan, Sandra O'Brien, Mary O'Neill, Patricia King, Kathryn Toner, Karen Coyle, Michelle Kelly, Mary Burns, Mary McGrady, Liz Kane.

Hayley Boyle, Galbally.

Colly McAllister, St Galls & Martina McCafferty, Bredagh.

Ulster Combined Colleges Representatives:
Hayley Boyle, Lisa McGirr, Pauline McCoy, Denise Martin, Cathy Gallagher, Maura McArdle, Maura McCabe, Martina O'Brien.

All-Ireland Combined Colleges Representatives:
Cathy Gallagher, Hayley Boyle, Maura McArdle.

Club Awards:

Club Awards were presented at a function in 'Strike Four', and were as follows;

Player of the Year:
Lisa McGirr, St Macartan's

Players' Player of the Year:
Lisa McGirr

Fresher of the Year:
Lisa McGirr

Most Improved Player of the Year:
Sharon Daly, Tullysaran

Clubperson of the Year:
Sinead McCone, Armagh Harps & Cathy Gallagher, Donaghmore

back to the top



All Rights Reserved