www.queenslgfc.com - Cumann Peíle Ollscoil na mBan Ríona Béal Feírste
Cead Mile Failte, - Welcome to the official website of Queen's University Belfast Ladies Gaelic Football Club

Bookmark site


Queen's Ladies Gaelic Football Club Season 1994/1995

Chairperson: Maura McArdle Killevey
Secretary: Maura McCabe Enniskillen
Tresurer: Lorraine McCaffery Lisnaskea

The team had a disappointing League run beaten by a single point at the Poly and by Monaghan Institute, and convincingly beaten by Coleraine. The latter game was played at Cherryvale as the Dub was unavailable, a further blow.

However things did look up come Dowd Cup weekend in the glorious sunshine at the Dub. Beating the challenge of St. Mary's in the semi-final, Queen's progressed to the elusive final. QUB ahead by six points at half time, looked poised for victory. However Coleraine who had swallowed a bitter pill the previous year at the hands of UUJ, were not going to give up easily. Indeed inspired by the trio of Jennifer Treanor, Una McElroy, and Naoimh Daly, they finished five points clear of a gutted Queens' side.

Playing for the first year at All-Ireland level in the O'Connor Cup, QUB travelled to Naas to take on Mary Immaculate College, Limerick. On a white pitch, Queens' batteled principly against the hailstones to record an emphatic victory. The proverbial bubble was soon to be burst however, again by a single point defeat at the hands of the Poly.

Hayley Boyle, Ciara O'Flanagan, Roisin Fitzsimmons, Denise Martin, Brenda McKenna, Maura McArdle, Martina Hutton, Maura McCabe, Fionnula McAtamney, Neisa McEniff, Cathy Gallagher, Pauline McCoy, Lorraine McCaffery, Patricia McNelis, Mary McDonald.

Subs: Deidre Logan, Claire McElvanna, Maura Mahony, Nuala Reilly, Olivia McCormack, Sinead McCone, Fiona McSherry, Cathy Finnegan, Margaret McLarnon.

Maura McArdle, Killevey

Colly McAllister, Paul O'Reilly, Brian Kennan.

Ulster Combined Colleges Representatives:
Cathy Gallagher, Denise Martin, Hayley Boyle, Fionnuala McAtamney, Pauline McCoy, Maura McCabe, Patricia McNelis, Roisin Fitzsimons.

Club Awards:
Club Awards were made at a presentation ceremony in the York Hotel (Madisons) and were as follows;

Player of the Year:
Hayley Boyle, Galbally

Players' Player of the Year:
Hayley Boyle, Galbally

Most Improved Player of the Year:
Roisin Fitzsimons, Bredagh

Clubperson of the Year:
Lorraine McCaffery, Lisnaskea

back to the top



All Rights Reserved